labor day: sponsored by andy goldsworthy.

woven_branch_arch

We’re on the front end of the Labor Day long weekend. How did that happen? The nature of summer in New England is such that we’re all a little more weekend warrior-ish than normal this time of year, but I think I’ve felt that accelerated summer feeling even more this year since it’s my first year spending a summer – easing into it from spring, existing in the full of it (and its humidity…ug), and drifting out of it as the days get shorter – in this part of the world in nearly 10 (!) years. And it feels so good. Fall is upon us, which this year brings Andy Goldsworthy into my head.

Am I also thinking about things dying and the ephemera of it all? Maybe a little bit, becausesand_edged_to_catch_early_light of the season as well as some recent events. Cheerful, I know. But rest assured, I’m still an optimist. And while I’m thinking about the height of the growing season winding down, I’ve also got that back-to-school feeling where I want to buy new pencils, dust off my backpack and reinvent myself a little bit for the year to come. Be a little bit better than last year’s version. The year starts in January, yes, but there’s a 12-month clock that starts at Labor Day for me, too (there’s also a State of the Robin Union I also take at my birthday in July…not sure what it means but it is what it is).

If you’ve never heard of Andy Goldsworthy, take a peek at his work and see if it does anything for you. It’s in and of nature and natural elements and I find it more interesting and meaningful to me as I get older.

I’ll once again be roving New England (destination: Cape Cod) this weekend. Hope you’re getting out of Dodge (or Boston, or DC, or NYC…), too.

Leave a Reply

