if you’re going to san francisco.

Image

And you may ask yourself, Well, how did I get here?…

And you may tell yourself,

This is not my beautiful house.

And you may tell yourself,

This is not my beautiful wife.

–Talking Heads

I’m reading The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides. “Intellectual hedonism” is the phrase that comes to mind. That, and I’m thinking a lot about what it felt like to be a new college graduate and how I comparatively feel now (is this where I say YOLO? If so…keep waiting). 

It’s time to restore the balance in my life so I don’t wake up one day and wonder where the rat race took me. Note that I fully acknowledge that much of this self-reflectivity stems from a recent trip to San Francisco and Napa. My at-least-once-a-year trips in that direction seem to be good for my soul, bleeding-heartish as that sounds. But it’s true. And I’m OK with it…especially since this time I literally went to San Francisco…and had flowers in my hair. Yet again, walking cliché: that’s me.

Leave a Reply

