penchant for pennants.

PhotoIl_570xn

[pennant photo: Carole James/Etsy]

I come from a place that loves a good flag or two. Burgees are everywhere (it is the New England coast, after all), as are just about every interpretation of the American flag since its creation (we love our 13 original colonies). There’s something about flags like this that make me happy. And lucky for us, Etsy is awash in pennants!

I do not get the same warm feeling when I look at the Arkansas state flag:

Arkansas_state_flag

This website gives this definition of the flag:

A diamond on a red field represents the only place in North America where diamonds have been discovered and mined. The twenty-five white stars around the diamond mean that Arkansas was the twenty-fifth state to join the Union. The top of four stars in the center represents that Arkansas was a member of the Confederate States during the Civil War. The other three stars represent Spain, France and the United States, countries that had earlier ruled the land that includes Arkansas.

I will never understand why membership in the Confederacy is something to be celebrated, but that’s probably because my roots, my sensibilities and my heart are planted firmly north of the Mason-Dixon line.

Anyway, back to happier, salty things. Pennants like these below were part of my daily life for quite a while. I miss them.

Alpha | Bravo | Charlie | Delta | Echo | Foxtrot | Golf | Hotel | India | Juliet | Kilo | Lima | Mike | November | Oscar | Papa | Quebec | Romeo | Sierra | Tango | Uniform | Victor | Whiskey | X-Ray | Yankee | Zulu

Flags-a-z

People in these parts have no idea what images I see when I talk about things like this, the smell of low tide or the sound of a good foghorn sound on a pea soup night.

Leave a Reply

