california stars.

 

I have been in love with this song for years, and will continue to be.

I saw Wilco perform at Red Rocks outside of Denver in 2005. For the natural surroundings alone, it was the best show I’ve ever been to, and the music made it even better.

California Stars | Woody Guthrie (words) | Jeff Tweedy/Jay Bennett (music) | 1998

I’d like to rest my heavy head tonight

On a bed of California stars

I’d like to lay my weary bones tonight

On a bed of California stars

I’d love to feel your hand touching mine

And tell me why I must keep working on

Yes, I’d give my life to lay my head tonight on a bed

Of California stars

 

I’d like to dream my troubles all away

On a bed of California stars

Jump up from my starbed and make another day

Underneath my California stars

They hang like grapes on vines that shine

And warm the lovers’ glass like friendly wine

So, I’d give this world just to dream a dream with you

On our bed of California stars

Leave a Reply

